BOOKS

Reviews of Scoundrel Days

Scoundrel Days, provides us with that rarest of literary treats: a good dose of the shocking … an immersive, vital prose that almost drags the reader along. This is not your ordinary memoir. Frazer is writing here in the tradition of Helen Garner, Andrew McGahan and Nick Earls. This is dirty realism at its dirtiest.
A visceral and urgent internal perspective which is both direct and poetic, often charming, and sometimes bleakly funny. Frazer oscillates between bravado and moments of self-awareness. This enigmatic, self-styled outsider bravely lets us into the inner sanctum, which makes for a fascinating read.
Frazer is a legendary protagonist, in the vein of Bukowski’s literary alter-ego. His writing is compared to McGahan’s coming-of-age novel Praise, but Frazer uses that nervy present-perfect tense to take us further, faster, harder. It has more in common with the hyperbolic, ugly-beautiful prose of Kathy Acker.
Described by Dazed & Confused as a ‘21st century Baudelaire on acid’
Brentley’s unconventionality, radicalism, aggression, schizophrenia,
non-adaptability and sublimity with hallucinogenic scenes and
pornographic moments, a bizarre mix of elements of neo-symbolism
and post-romanticism, wrapped in a form of hypertext prose,
finds itself somewhere at the intersection of Burroughs,
Breton, Rimbaud, Salinger and Ian Curtis.