Biography

Glenn Hunt Photography

 

 

BRENTLEY FRAZER is an Australian author whose poems, prose and academic papers have been published in numerous national and international anthologies, journals, magazines and other periodicals since 1992. He holds a MA (writing) from James Cook University and a PhD (experimental creative non-fiction) from Griffith University

His first book, a novelised memoir, Scoundrel Days (UQP, 2017) was described as “a gritty, Gen-X memoir, recounting wild escapades into an under-culture of drugs and violence and sex” (ABC Radio National).

The Australian newspaper compared Frazer’s ability to shock, surprise and unsettle with that of Marcel Duchamp, concluding: “This is dirty realism at its dirtiest”.

He lives in Brisbane.

READINGS LECTURES WORKSHOPS
Brentley is available for readings, lectures
and creative writing workshops.
Contact or email
mail@brentley.com

SCOUNDREL DAYS
Permissions and Rights Queries:
University of Queensland Press
uqp (at) uqp.uq.edu.au
PO Box 6042, St Lucia, Qld 4067
p. +61 7 3365 7244

Brentley is represented by
Brendan Fredericks
BFredericksPR
Publicity & Author Management

+61 (0) 403 265 337
brendan@bfrederickspr.com
www.bfrederickspr.com

Dr Brentley Frazer
Brisbane, Australia

mail@brentley.com
https://brentley.com
facebook
instagram
academia.edu

★ 

REVIEWS OF SCOUNDREL DAYS

Scoundrel Days, provides us with that rarest of literary treats: a good dose of the shocking … an immersive, vital prose that almost drags the reader along. This is not your ordinary memoir. Frazer is writing here in the tradition of Helen Garner, Andrew McGahan and Nick Earls. This is dirty realism at its dirtiest.
A visceral and urgent internal perspective which is both direct and poetic, often charming, and sometimes bleakly funny. Frazer oscillates between bravado and moments of self-awareness. This enigmatic, self-styled outsider bravely lets us into the inner sanctum, which makes for a fascinating read.
Frazer is a legendary protagonist, in the vein of Bukowski’s literary alter-ego. His writing is compared to McGahan’s coming-of-age novel Praise, but Frazer uses that nervy present-perfect tense to take us further, faster, harder. It has more in common with the hyperbolic, ugly-beautiful prose of Kathy Acker.

REVIEWS OF ABORIGINAL TO NOWHERE

Brentley Frazer’s language is electric, ornate, oddly formed and brilliant, poignant, sometimes surreal images and passages abound. The longer poems have a mixture of sharp, even dazzling writing. 

The poet searches endlessly for hidden, elusive secrets behind the everyday world, one that results naming in the most poetic language.

The vocabulary is massive, events and situations are charged, and the voice of the poet compelling.

These collected meditations rip apart what we imagine to be ‘order’

Frazer performs his trademark linguistic magic, penetrating everything from personal trauma to world order. 

In his hand, little is left unnoticed or forgotten by the poet, who has about him both the dreamer and the theorist, whose keen eye infiltrates everything it sees. 

Takahē Magazine

Frazer’s poems find beauty in the brokenness of things. Like Kintsugi, the Japanese practice of repairing fractured pottery with gold, Frazer conjures rich images from the ‘buckets of colonial rubbish’.

Aboriginal to Nowhere is a love-letter to a world that ultimately rejects its people. It is a celebration of grunge, and a roll call of those things that are lame, cast-off, defunct and unlovable. It is about people divorced from the places they inhabit, and people who are disorientated in their own homes. 

It also speaks to the profound loneliness ‘of the post-modern dispossessed’, the sort of grubby solitude that finds itself in a throng queuing for the Portaloos.

This is a thoughtful and fierce collection. Frazer is a visionary at a time when humanity risks losing touch with its core animality, and the real-world places in which it finds itself.

~ Poetry New Zealand Yearbook 2018, Massey University Press