Scoundrel Days: A Memoir

UNIVERSITY OF QUEENSLAND PRESS
Scoundrel Days by Brentley Frazer (UQP, 2017)

a 21st-century On the Road, a Holden Caulfield for punks … an extraordinary memoir of a wild adolescence, told in a compelling, poetic voice.

In Scoundrel Days Brentley Frazer tells the story of his youth – wild, disillusioned, impassioned and desolate. Born into a Christian cult in outback Queensland, Frazer escapes through literature and poetry, drugs and violence, sex and alcohol; and his ensuing rejection of religion, authority and the ‘way things are’ leads to adventures, desperation and, just possibly, redemption. Beautifully written and urgently told, Scoundrel Days is a visceral, compelling assault on the senses. An at times brutal story articulated with a poet’s sensibility, it portrays a walker of edges exploring the dark side while searching for the love essential to build a soul.”

● Paperback: 312 pages
Publisher: University of Queensland Press (27 February 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 070225956X
ISBN-13: 978-0702259562
Product Dimensions: 15.2 x 2.3 x 22.9 cm
Boxed-product Weight: 399 g
Average Customer Review: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Reviews of Scoundrel Days

Scoundrel Days, provides us with that rarest of literary treats: a good dose of the shocking … an immersive, vital prose that almost drags the reader along. This is not your ordinary memoir. Frazer is writing here in the tradition of Helen Garner, Andrew McGahan and Nick Earls. This is dirty realism at its dirtiest.
A visceral and urgent internal perspective which is both direct and poetic, often charming, and sometimes bleakly funny. Frazer oscillates between bravado and moments of self-awareness. This enigmatic, self-styled outsider bravely lets us into the inner sanctum, which makes for a fascinating read.
Frazer is a legendary protagonist, in the vein of Bukowski’s literary alter-ego. His writing is compared to McGahan’s coming-of-age novel Praise, but Frazer uses that nervy present-perfect tense to take us further, faster, harder. It has more in common with the hyperbolic, ugly-beautiful prose of Kathy Acker.

READ SCOUNDREL DAYS

This is dirty realism at its dirtiest. ~ The Australian

Review chapter 1

$ Free!
  • 'Can't remember the last time I read anything this gritty and compelling. Frazer doesn't write like an angel. He writes like a demon. Scoundrel Days is one of the finest Australian works in years.' Brett D'Arcy

Paperback

$ 23
95
  • 'How brilliant is the writing in Scoundrel Days? Like poetry written with a nail gun. Shit he's good. Uncommonly good. He's got a great eye, but also a lot of muscle to his writing, and that combo doesn't come along often enough. I hope he's got a lot more prose in him.' Nick Earls
20% off

Kindle edition

$ 8
46
  • Tom Sawyer on acid, a 21st-century On the Road, a Holden Caulfield for punks a an extraordinary memoir of a wild adolescence, told in a compelling, poetic voice.